Revising the photo website

Since March of 2005 I’ve had the photo collection on a service called SmugMug; accessible either as http://www.woodallphotography.com or wpw.smugmug.com.

When I signed up all those years ago, the choice was hobbyist or professional; I took the professional choice, registered a domain, pointed it to the site, and started uploading photos. The fee was reasonable I thought for unlimited storage with video and commerce options. Prices have gone up a couple of times, but as an early-adopter I got something of a discount. And there it stood for quite some time.

A few weeks ago SmugMug decided that simply being a photo-hosting site wasn’t enough; they had to start bringing politics into the realm. As I can’t figure out how photos of old buildings, railroads, birds and landscapes create a political view I stay away from that, but it caused me to reevaluate the situation.

Running some comparisons, it is clear that for an advanced hobbyist with little need for ‘event-oriented commerce’ (aka wedding photography), while SmugMug continues as the best-available photo hosting service, I no longer need the extensive commerce features (most of my sales are either digital licensing or largish fine-art prints). So going forward, the photos will stay hosted on SmugMug, but the commerce fulfillment will move elsewhere. On an ongoing basis, it saves $140/year in hosting fees.

 

Leave a Reply

