Back to the grindstone…

…making new webmasters and developers and support engineers.

Yep – it’s a shiny new semester.

It’s about now that I begin to envy the established bloggers – the ones who find it easy to write hundreds, or thousands of words a day… but enough carping, back to work.

Today I received a welcome piece of news – the server I donated to the college has been placed in a datacenter rack and is operating. We’ll see how well that works out, but if all is well, then we will have a Linux system accessible throughout the college network – but isolated from the “real” world. It will also have more compute and storage resources than the antique RS-6000 publicly available… and allow for server-side programming. In time we may mount a BSD VM – for shell work only, to demonstrate the differences between System V and BSD styles… but first we need to get the base system verified.

I rebuilt my apple* server this week; it is up and running but without any significant content as yet. Also the homebrew barebones ESXi server is running quite nicely, and in use as a staging and testbed server for cloud operations.

User interface designers and system architects should read the book  Traffic: Why We Drive the Way We Do (and What It Says About Us) by Tom Vanderbilt (link to Amazon) – especially chapter three – and apply the knowledge to your designs. You might also learn some useful driving tricks. This is the best thing related to computing I’ve read this year. So far.

With the new semester under way, the intent is to update the blog at least weekly, perhaps more often than that.

[note: I do not have an Apple-branded machine in working condition. But I do have a server named for a fruit.]

4 thoughts on “Back to the grindstone…”

  1. So, why didn’t you name your server ‘grape’, ‘kiwi’ or some other fruit (or, why a fruit name at all)? There are certainly plenty of fine fruits to choose from… :}

  2. Silly script kiddies, trix are for kids. I feel as if everywhere I go, kids say oh I can hack this, or oh I can hack into my high school computer system, and change my grades, but they don’t take any initiative to read books or ask questions about the underlying concepts or what’s happening under the hood.
    I don’t professor, I think kids today only know how to download* scripts and run* tools.
    But, I’m thankful to have such a deep curiosity as to how computers walk, and talk to each other, and to have such an insightful professor, who knows so much, and puts his intellectual curiosity to good use 🙂

Leave a Reply

